The Lure of Being Naked

I am super-dee-dooper excited about having Cari Quinn as a guest blogger on IH today. She’s been making a splash in the ebook scene lately and folks, this is one lady you want to look out for when shopping. I recently read her book Ex Appeal and I LOVED it. She has a new book coming to Ellora’s Cave in September called Personal Research and it’s on top of my TBB list. And so, without further ado…I give you Cari Quinn…

The lure of being naked by Cari Quinn. 

No, I don’t live in a nudist colony, but I do write erotic romance. How I ended up in this genre I’m not really sure. I started off writing sexy, funny, Harlequin Blaze-esque novels, but my sex scenes progressively kept getting hotter and hotter. Finally when I wrote a love scene that took place in a glass elevator that overlooked New York City, one of my CPs suggested I try going a little further. So I did. Four contracts later, I’m still loving writing hot, so much so that I have a whole bunch of books planned. I love my job. I think there’s an inherent honesty to erotic romance. Something about stripping off your clothes makes you vulnerable and I think that’s part of why this genre is so popular.

In my upcoming novella, Personal Research, releasing September 17th from Ellora’s Cave, my heroine Elena is an erotic romance writer who’s not really comfortable with what she does. She enjoys writing her sexy love scenes but she hasn’t really come to terms with their value beyond the obvious. Through the course of the story—and with the help of her yummy hero, Nunzio—she begins to see how her work can help people. Fiction at its best is an escape. We all remember the feeling of falling in love…and when that feeling comes with delicious sex, all the better. The possibility that someone might be able to forget their own issues for an hour while they read my work thrills me beyond belief.

Another reason I love erotic romance is the wide variety of topics. There are as many ideas as there are readers, and chances are, there just may be people out there who’ve gone through what your characters have. My latest release, Ex Appeal, is about a couple whose love life became stale so they broke up. Only problem is they’re still in love. Alone together for a night, they try to bridge the gap between them using a lot more than words, with explosive results. Or at least I hope they’re explosive. 😉

What about you? What draws you to erotic romance? Is there something you’ve been wanting to read about but haven’t seen on the shelves, virtual or otherwise?

And huge thanks to the wonderful Mari Carr for inviting me to the IH blog today. I love her work and without reading her incredible story Tequila Truth a couple years ago, I might not have tried writing erotic romance at all. That book’s definitely one of my favorites.

Links: www.cariquinn.com  http://cariquinn.blogspot.com/

Ex Appeal blurb, excerpt and buy links:
The weight of Ty’s stare made her open her eyes. He’d turned to face her again, but he’d moved no closer. “I told myself it was your problem, not mine. Yeah, I’ve been distracted. Busy with other things. But then I realized that if a woman leaves your bed wanting, that’s your own damn fault.” His eerie mirror of her earlier thoughts made her breath hitch as he returned to her and gripped her upper arms. Not roughly, not painfully. Possessively. “I need you in my life. Which means it’s up to me to keep you happy. Whatever it takes.”

Jenny started to roll her eyes at his melodramatics. But before she could shoot back a response, he swung her up in his arms and hauled her up on the deck. His hold brooked no arguments, but that didn’t stop her from slapping at him as he carried her inside and dumped her on the bed.

“You’ve got a lot of nerve.” She shoved her dripping hair out of her eyes. Eyes that were now thankfully bone dry. Anger always had that effect on her.

“And we’ve got a lot of time to make up for.” Ty bent over, then tossed the pink bag from Adult Playland onto her lap. Out bobbed cranberry lace and satin and the erotic crayons she hadn’t yet shown him. “You want to be tied up?”

For some reason, she blushed. “You’re making me feel like a naughty child.”

“I won’t say what you make me feel like.” Flashing her a thin smile, he pawed through her purchases with absolutely no finesse. Might as well have been digging through the sandbox. “Here we go. Over the door. Hooks and straps and this little silk nightie for me to tear to shreds with my teeth.”

Buy Links: http://www.thewildrosepress.com/wilderroses/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=182&products_id=778

http://www.amazon.com/Ex-Appeal-ebook/dp/B003U4WA7Y/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&m=AG56TWVU5XWC2&s=digital-text&qid=1280072342&sr=1-1

17 Responses to “The Lure of Being Naked”

  1. Cari,
    So glad you decided to write erotic romance. Ex Appeal is a great book and I’m looking forward to Personal Research.

  2. Cari,
    Your books sound so sexy. Sex in a glass elevator….oh the possibilities. I definitely need to read your books. Thanks for blogging. Keep writing amazing books.

  3. Ex Appeal sounds interesting. I will definitely be looking for it.

  4. Hi Cari and Mari,
    Wow, the glass elevator sounds Hot..
    I’ll have to put it on my TRL. Thanks to Mari inviting you here I have met a new Author I’m definitely going to read.
    Carol L.
    Lucky4750@aol.com

  5. Cari, wow! That was one tantalizing excerpt…looks like Ty realizes what Jenny wants in their lovemaking.

  6. I have put this on my calendar of books that are coming out. This calendar is gettin full.
    I love happy endings in books. My books are a great way to escape and relax for me. I have three boys one of which is coming close to the dreaded puberty stage and a husband. I need to escape and relax or I will go nuts!!!
    Thank you for sharing your new book I can’t wait to read it!!

  7. Book looks great Cari, will be picking this up!……ah just did, lol 🙂

  8. Thanks again for having me here, Mari, and thanks to all of you for stopping by! I really appreciate your kind words and hope you enjoy if you decide to try my work. 🙂

    Desiree, I understand completely about the need to escape into a story! I do it all the time. That’s one of the great things about the International Heat ladies – so many awesome books to choose from!

  9. It would take the lure of sex with Gerard Butler to get me into a glass elevator. I’m afraid of heights so I’d need him to keep my mind busy.

  10. I enjoyed the post and the blurb. I’m ready for more, please!

  11. Erotic romances have such varied storylines that I can always find something that interests me or fits my mood. Reading is my escape hatch, and I adore reading about love and lust in the erotic romances that I pick.

  12. Heather P. Says:

    Hi Cari- I can’t wait to read Ex Appeal and Personal Research they sound great!!

  13. Erotic romance is a risk free way to explore what you like and don’t like. You can learn a lot about yourself from them while you enjoy the hot, sexy goodness. I can’t believe I did find them earlier, I used to be a romance snob but I have since learned not to judge a book by its genre. I will be checking out both these books very soon.

  14. Yummy, Cari! Thanks for visiting and sharing excerpts today! Just what I needed as a pick-me-up after spending four hours doing data entry during school registration, only to find out that none of the work saved. Now we have to start over again tomorrow. *thunk*

  15. There’s nothing specific that draws me to erotic romance. I found paranormal romance several years ago, in the book stores. I ran across some Ellora’s Cave books in print while exploring the shelves at the book store, liked the blurbs, bought the books. Have since moved to buying the more erotic ones in ebook format. It’s also a great way to safely learn more about the different ways that sex can be enjoyed.

  16. Yvonne R. Says:

    The glass elevator scene sounds hot! *sneaking off to check it out* 🙂 Glad you stopped by Cari!

  17. Lindsey Ekland Says:

    I love stories that allow glimpses into how different scenarios develop. Looking forward to the new stories.

Leave a Reply

