Day Jobs

Oh boy.  I’ve rambled whined talked about this before.  I’ve been working steadily since I was 16.  Yes Burger King counts.  Even though I only last two weeks there.  After that, many many part time jobs until I left for the Navy.  I spent eight years on active duty.  But I digress.  I currently have a day job and if you had asked me a few years ago if I liked it and liked what I was doing, I wouldn’t have hesitated to tell you yes.

Now?  Today?  Not so much.  Since I’ve gotten my feet wet in the publishing business, I really struggle with the day job.  I just don’t want it anymore.  I’m more than happy to let someone else have a full time job.  Me?  I’ll work from home making covers and websites.  That’s what I want to do.

It’s sad that it took me almost 30 years to figure out what I wanted to be when I grew up.   What about you all?  What do you want to be when you grow up?  Did you get the job you’ve always wanted?  Or are you stuck in a dead end job, but you stay there because you need the job?

So I play the lottery every week (AKA the redneck retirement fund) in the hopes that maybe we’ll hit it.  I don’t want a lot – just enough to pay all the bills and not have to work anymore.  That’s not too much to ask, is it? 

Just nod.  🙂

13 Responses to “Day Jobs”

  1. Courtney S Says:

    I actually went to cosmetology school & then got an AFA in Drama so I could do theatrical makeup. Now, @ 32, I work on the clerical side of the medical profession, which I enjoy. The joke is that I ended up going into “the family business”…lol (My mom’s on the clerical side of medicine, my dad is a retired Corpsman–Go Navy–who works as a CNA, & my brother is a firefighter/EMT for the city we live in.) I agree that it would be nice to win the lottery & became a “lady of leisure”, but until my rowboat comes in, I guess I’ll keep the day job.

  2. Thank you. Now I know how to explain why I play the lotto to my father. “Redneck Retirement Fund” is actually something that he would get.

  3. I’m the same way. I’m tired of the day job and want my full time job to be writing. I’m a long way away from that though. *sigh* so it’s EDJ and data entry for me. lol I’m just glad I like the people I work with.

    That reminds me…I need to buy some tickets. lol I would love to win the lotto so I could stay home and write. How totally cool would that be! I’m already designing my office in my head for when I win the money. heeheehee

  4. Maria63303 Says:

    Wow…you actually know what you want to do…lol…of course I don’t know what I want to do …I do know that I want to be able to set my own hours though and can’t do that with the EDJ…which pays the bills and gives me enough money to buy books…no not doing what I want to do either….lol….I think it’s just a part of the human condition

  5. Anne Rainey Says:

    I hope that someday SOON you’ll be able to quit your day job so you can do what you really enjoy full time.

  6. Heather P Says:

    I keep telling everybody that I still do not know what I want to be when I grow up. lol But I have come to the conclusion that I will be every thing until I figure it out. I have had one job that I really liked and it was because the kids and employees were the most awesome. SO maybe I can find that again soon.

  7. I DO PAYROLL FOR A TRUCKING COMPANY AND I HATE IT. THE DRIVERS ARE WORSE THAN TODDLERS AND MANAGEMENT IS BEYOND AWFUL. BUT I HAVE TO HAVE THE JOB. I WOULD LOVE TO WORK WITH BOOKS IN SOME CAPACITY. OR WORK FROM HOME. I MISS SPENDING TIME WITH MY KIDS SINCE I HAVE GONE BACK TO WORK. AN HOUR TO AND FROM WORK ADDS UP AND IT IS HARD.

  8. dreabecraft Says:

    *nods Obediantly*

    No I wanted to be a homicide detective when I grew up. I know dead bodies are creepy, but I liked the idea of helping families. I always told myself I wouldn’t change my mind. And I did after I had my first child I no longer wanted to be a cop.

    After the girls are all in school i would like to maybe go back to school to do you what you do. Make covers or something. I hope to be and author someday but i would like a job I can do from home.

    • I think going to school is a great idea. You’re young enough to be able to take your time and figure out what you really want to do.

      Photography is where the money is at. Good luck with whatever you decide to do.

      Valerie

  9. I wanted to be a Mother when I grew up and I was. I worked all my life, babysitting from the time I was 9 or 10 and working after school and holidays all through high school and college, but motherhood was my most rewarding job. We sacrificed a lot for me to raise my own sons, but I think it really paid off. Now, I’m not able to work due to an accident and I can think of a ton of things I’d love to do ! LOL Babysitting is not one of them, luckily my sons don’t give me that option to decline! LOL

  10. At first I wanted to work in a bookstore. Done it, do it. Now I make coffee in a bookstore, and it sucks. I want to to write full time; that’s my end goal. Even if that doesn’t happen, if I can get away from making coffee someday, I’ll be happy. Oh, and away from customers. That’s my idea of heaven.

Leave a Reply

