Websites!!! The new resume…

Hi, I’m Valerie Tibbs.  No, I’m not an author, so no snippets or ARCs to be given away.  I’m a cover artist and graphic designer.  I will have a prize at the end of my week.  A custom banner?  A $10 gift card?  You can choose.  We’ll pick a winner at the end of the week.

OK… so what am I going to talk about for an entire week?  Sheesh, the pressure.  

How about we talk about something that every person who is selling something needs?  Yes, I’m talking about a website.  Every one who is selling something – books, gadgets, graphic design, shoes, clothes, etc… all need a web presence.

My friend Joy and I have started a web design business (no, I’m not plugging that for this blog), but if I were, I’d tell you to go here.  😉

No, I’m talking about your image on the web.  We all Google each other, and if you’re selling your wares online, you need a decent site.  You need to have a site that reflects what it is that you’re selling.  If you’re a YA author, naked men on the site is probably not a good idea.  People will get the wrong idea.  And you might end up with some serious hate mail or at least several attempts at an exorcism.  Conversely, if you’re an erotic book author, a site of daisies*** and fluffy bunnies is probably not the image you want to convey to your fans and readers.  ***Except for Jambrea*** hee hee

One thing that I’ve noticed is authors having their picture on their site.  I have mixed feelings on this.  On the one hand, it’s cool to put a name to the face.  And if I ever got to meet you in person, I’d at least know what you liked like.  On the other hand, if you have a ‘glamour shot photo’ from the ’80s with your big hair (I miss those days… but I digress), maybe that’s not the right image you want to put out there either.  Keep your photo up to date.  If you don’t like the way you look, chances are no one else will.  Get a professional photograph taken.  Show everyone that you’re a serious professional.  If your photo is crappy, people will think your site, and to an extent, your product is crappy too.

We live on the internet.  We buy/sell/talk/chat/rant/rave about everything online.  Keep your presence current.  Set up a blog.  If you have a blog, please keep it updated.  If you haven’t posted anything in two years, you’ve lost fans/readers.  We won’t be back after the first month of no updates.  

OK, well, this kinda turned into a rant.  That wasn’t my intent.  The most important thing about being on the internet?  It’s fun!  Hopefully I haven’t scared you off.  I promise to have more fun stuff tomorrow.   Really.

Valerie

14 Responses to “Websites!!! The new resume…”

  1. Lindsey Ekland Says:

    All very valid points for anyone on the web. Also do not forget checking any links to make sure they are still valid. Always irritating to get a broken link.

  2. dreabecraft Says:

    I agree with the whole broken link thing that is annoying. Also getting a link that doesn’t exist anymore is annoying too.

    Thanks for the post Val. Oh and I love Rhians new site by the way. The lights twinkling is a cool effect.

  3. Maria63303 Says:

    Very valid points as you only get one opportunity to make a first impression on any one who visits your website or blog! Once a reader has a bad impression they don’t want to come back so it’s not only important to have a blog/site that reflects what your selling and yourself but you also have to be careful with what you post. I’ve been to a lot of blogs where I have seen mis-spelled words and it’s just annoying and it makes the person look less professional. These days with spell check on almost everything – there really is no need for mis-spelled words.

  4. Totally agree Val! Nothing irks me more than looking up an author and seeing they haven’t updated the website since Moses parted the Red Sea! I figure that author doesn’t want me to buy their books, so why waste my money.
    hugs
    molli

  5. if you’re an erotic book author, a site of daisies and fluffy bunnies is probably not the image you want to convey to your fans and readers.

    You trying to tell me something here V? lol

    Great post!

  6. I agree with your comments. Also if it has irritating music or graphic intensive so that it takes forever to load. Just keep it simple and easy to manuver and I’m a happy girl.

  7. You definitely lose your followers after an absence. It’s so sad. :snif: :snif:

  8. Hey Valerie,
    Whether it turned into a rant or not what you said is basically the truth. I hate my pictures and since I’m not an auithor and only on a limited income the two pics I use for id purposes suck but that is what I look like so I guess I just have to learn to like it.
    I’m looking forward to what subjects you will cover as you are a graphic artist I believe you said. Not that I need a banner as I’m just a reader/poet but I wouldn’t mind looking at what you have done. If you are proud of what you do then share it woman, enquiring minds want to know.

    Best wishes and may you have lots of future sales in your business endeavor.
    Robin

  9. Yvonne R. Says:

    Extremely important things to remember.

  10. Anne Rainey Says:

    I totally have my picture on my site. And it’s not a professional shot either. Ack!

Leave a Reply

