Friday Eve Snippet.

Wow! Do we all know what tomorrow is? Yep that’s right, the second Coyote Hunger book is released! Woot! Coyote Wild is Brogan and El’s story and I’m so excited to see this one on the cyber bookshelves. squeeeee…..

And because I figured I’d be giving you an excerpt from Coyote Wild tomorrow I’ve decided to give you a snippet from Coyote Lies. This is book 4 and poor Brady has a lot to live down. It’s nothing he’s done but his family aren’t exactly the most popular around town these days. I’ve barely scratched the surface with this guy and I can’t wait to see how he deals with the heroine that’s going to have him chasing his tail. *grin* Anyway, enough chatting, enjoy.

*unedited excerpt*

****

Brady Connelly sucked in a breath as the town of Whispering Springs came into view. Slowing his truck, he pulled off the road onto the shoulder and took in the many changes in the place he’d been born. Downtown had spread out since he was here last and most of the building in the older area looked either new or recently renovated. A lot could happen in ten years. He wasn’t surprised to see the newer buildings or the sprawl of a growing population.

He’d researched extensively before taking the job with Wild Encounters, the owners of the business had intrigued him the most. They’d managed to build a reputable company that offered wilderness adventures unlike anything else in the region. Brady also knew they were well on the way to bringing life back to an almost decimated coyote population. Both the natural packs of this mountain range and the shifter pack who called Whispering Springs home.

Bile rose in his throat and his stomach churned when he thought about his father’s involvement in the near destruction of the once prosperous pack. Thinking of his father always turned his insides. Brady couldn’t remember much of his father before the age of twelve, but his mother always told him things hadn’t been as bad as their final years on the mountain. Memories of the night they’d fled, his older brother Marcus refusing to get in the car and go with them, flashed through his mind.

His mother had cried for the whole twelve hour drive. Silent tears that streamed down her face to soak her shirt. Brady had never felt more useless in his life. At fifteen he’d still been too young to defend her against his brute of a father but he had succeeded in avoiding confrontations during his early teens, protecting her as best he could. The night they’d left their whole world had shifted beneath their feet with one act of violence his mother couldn’t ignore. Malcolm Connelly would stop at nothing to gain Sovereign.

Not even murder.

He closed his eyes and leaned his head back. Ironic really, that murder caused him to leave the mountains he’d called home and murder would bring him back. A heavy sigh left his chest. The weight of all he faced sat on his shoulders like his favorite hiking pack. A burden he had no choice but to carry.

Brady didn’t know what kind of reception he would receive for the pack members, especially after recent events, but he didn’t expect coming home to be easy. And sitting here on the side of the road wouldn’t make it any easier. With a deep breath, he opened his eyes and focused on the town that as of today would be his home once more. He put the truck back into gear and checked his mirrors before pulling back onto the road and driving toward his future.

COPYRIGHT © RHIAN CAHILL 2010

****

Seeing how my latest releases are part of a series I want to know what your favorite series is and why you love them. Don’t forget to leave a comment to be in the draw for any of my backlist (including tomorrows release) and a little something special sent all the way from the land of Oz.

Rhian

15 Responses to “Friday Eve Snippet.”

  1. […] and if you head on over there you’ll get to meet the hero of the fourth coyote book, Brady. CLICK HERE to read a snippet of his book, Coyote Lies. from → Guest blogging, Writing ← Brogan […]

  2. Lindsey Ekland Says:

    Love series to get to revisit the same world and check in with favorite heros and heroines. Just read Lydia Dare’s Wolfish books about Regency werewolves. Number 4 is out this fall.

  3. Yummmmmeeeee! More, more, more!

  4. Aw Rhian it is so hard to choose I have so many fave series that I follow. Lora Leigh’s Breed series, strong alpha guys with attitude and strong kick butt heroines throughout the whole series. They make you laugh and cry and best of all they make you love them.

    Kate Douglas has a Chanku werewolf series with a twist in one of it’s pack members. The change into the wolf brings out the horniness of the pack having menages and I guess you would call them orgies.

    Patricia Brigg’s Mercy Thompson series is also damned good.

    And I can’t forget my dragons or Companions. Anne MacCaffrey along with her son Todd write a sereis about a planet called Pern who developed dragons to fight thread. Dragons would bond with their riders and communicate telepathically. Mercedes Lackey wrote a seires of trilogies about a kingdom called Valdemar and magical white horses called companions who would choose you because you had magic also. The bond was the strongest form of love I ever read about until LL’s Breeds.

    I could give you more authors that I follow simply because they have a series about wolves, werewolves and shape shifters, which became my fave supernatural beings.

    I look forward to beginning your coyote series as soon as money makes it happen.

    Have a great day.
    Robin
    Robbibird3@aol.com

  5. Maria63303 Says:

    I have alot of series authors that I read and not all of them are paranormal – though most are. I love both series by Laurell K. Hamilton, also love Patricia Briggs two series, love Lora Leigh Breeds, Naughty Series and her Elite Ops series. I love being able to see some of the same characters in other books- get a little more of what’s going on with them and also love to see how a wrtier’s style evolves over time as they write more books- most improve as the series progresses so it’s a real treat. Looking forward to tomorrow’s release.

  6. dreabecraft Says:

    This sounds so good.

    I don’t have a favorite series. Its like choosing a favorite child I couldn’t choose even if I wanted to lol. I do have some that I really really like lol. The Black Dagger Brotherhood by JR Ward, Lords of the Underworld by Gena Showalter, Master of time series by Benda Joyce, and Immortals After Dark series by Kresley Cole.

    I have yet to read an ebook series. *ducks for cover* I’m new remember don’t hurt me lol. But I am getting ready to read The Wild Irish Series by Mari Carr so I am sure that will be a great way to break the ebook series cherry lol.

  7. Man I have lots of series I have to have some of favs are LL Breeds, Jeannine Frost’s Grave Series, Larissa Ione Demonica series, Patricia Briggs Mercy and omega series, and both of Ilona Andrews series. And I love them all but for different reason. Some are UF and some are PR but they all are fantastic story telling series. shoot forgot another fav either series by Shelly Laurenston/GA Aiken are freaking fantastic just don’t drink and read them. It hurts when Diet dr pepper comes out your nose.
    BTW Congrats on your new release. Is sounds good.

  8. Cathy MacDonald Says:

    I love a great series and have quite a few that are auto-buys for me. A couple of my top favorites:

    Rachel Morgan series by Kim Harrison-love the regulars, and how fresh Kim keeps the storylines

    Vampire Mistress series by Joey W Hill gives us erotic vampire stories full of power and emotion

    Lora Leigh’s Breed series got me hooked on shifters

    Thanks for sharing the excerpt for Coyote Lies, Rhian.

    LKH-the Anita Blake series still has me hooked and was got me started on my love of the paranormal romance genre

    caity_mack at yahoo dot com

  9. I’m not sure I can nail down a favorite series. Lauren Dane has a 2 book series the Cherchez Pack that I love. Lora Leigh’s Men of August is another favorite of mine. Shayla Black’s Doomsday Brethren series is great as well.

    Congrats on the new release.

  10. I adore series and am crushed when they come to an end. I don’t even want to think about the endings. Some of my favorites are Ward’s BDB, Ione’s Demonica, Cole’s IAD, Feehan’s Shadowalkers, Evanovich’s Stephanie Plum, and Brockmann’s Troubleshooteers. I love seeing characters evolve throughout each book.

  11. I love a good series, Rhian! A few favorites–Quinn’s Bridgertons, Roberts’ Irish Born and Chesapeake Bay, Lisa Wingate’s Tending Roses, Aiken’s Dragon Kin, and so many more… *sigh* So many excellent books, so little time! 😉 And seriously, Rhian, more please!!

  12. Tracey D Says:

    I have several favorites. I like the Outlander series by Diana Gabaldon, BDB series by J.R. Ward, Adrien English series by Josh Lanyon, KOTDC by D. N. Simmons, Cambridge Fellows Mysteries by Charlie Cochrane…

  13. There are so many series that I love…for my romantic suspense I turn to Kay Hooper’s Bishop/Special Crimes Unit…they’re very well written, well developed characters and the plots are absolutely riveting. For my erotic romance fix, I turn to Lora Leigh’s Breeds…it is edgy, sexy, and fiercely sensual. For my paranormal stories…I turn to Moira Rogers Red Rock series…werewolves! need I say more. *grin* For mystery, I follow Laura Griffin Tracer series, Leslie Parrish – CATS series…I also have a ton of other authors from each genre that I follow who write great series’. Jayne Castle’s Harmony series’ is incredible.

  14. There are several series that I have on my must buy list.

    Lorelei James and her cowboys

    Janet Evanovich’s Stephanie Plum

    Christine Feehan’s Carpathians

    C.L. Wilson’s Tairen series

    and a few more. I love coming back to the familar, checking in on old friends while making new ones. I know what to expect and sometimes in this ever changing world, I need that.

  15. Ohhh i’m late, but great excerpt Rhian. My two favorite series are Anita Blake by LKH and In Death by JD Robb. Love the cast of characters and seeing what they will do in each book. It’s like having cousins that call every month to tell you a new story about something that happened, LOL.

Leave a Reply

