Thanx for your recommendations

In September last year, I blogged about the new romance authors I’d discovered, in the IH blog titled: “Reading Anything Interesting” (Okay, so the authors I’d discovered were not new to the world of writing, but they sure were new to my world of reading.)

I then asked if you had any recommendations to make because I was wide open to discovering more awesome authors, and I’m taking the time now to thank you for your suggestions. Following that post, I popped onto Books On Board and spent an obscene amount of money. I’ve continued with this little habit ever since.( BoB are happy about it. Hubby is not).

So, what did I purchase at BoB? Well, lets see:

I decided to give Sherrilyn Kenyon’s Bad Moon Rising a miss, seeing as a few of you (Sherry, JJJ and Maggie) were not too impressed. But, I couldn’t miss Sherrilyn altogether (that would be sacrilege.) And so instead I bought her Born of Fire and Born of Night. LOVED THEM! And have Born of Ice close to the top of my TBB list. (Oh, and did you happen to notice the first book in Nick Gaultier’s series, The Chronicles of Nick, releases at the end of May? I for one cannot wait!)

Dana Marie Bell suggestedΒ  Shelley Laurenston/GA Aiken and Kerrelyn Sparks. Bought one of each and enjoyed them both.

Maggie J spoke very highly about Gena Showalter’s Lords of the Underworld. Ten out of ten for that series. Cannot recommend it highly enough. Maggie also recommended Nina Bangs, so I gave Eternal Pleasures a bang. (Snort. Do you like my play on words?) Thoroughly entertaining indeed.

JJJ recommended Deborah Cooke. Seeing as JJJ also recommended JR Ward, I took her advice and bought Kiss of Fire and Kiss of Fury. I’ve read the first – but not the second yet. Also very enjoyable.

Viv recommended Virginia Kantra – for the second time. I tried so hard to get her books, but they simply are not available in any format I could download. *&^%!#

Bella made loads of recommendations, including Keri Arthur’s Riley Jensen Guardian series. I got her first book – but confess to not having read that yet either.

Then there was Lexxie who suggested (again) the Sookie Stackhouse series. Do I even need to mention how bloody much I ADORE those books? Is there anyone, anywhere in the world, who does not know I lust after Eric? I am in love with a Viking Vampire. Go figure. (And please, don’t tell my hubby). I cannot wait for Charlaine Harris’s next installment. Can. Not. Wait.

I made a couple of impulse purchases while looking for the recommended books. (Sue me.) Discovered Cynthia Eden, and bought two of her books. Yes – I bought them based on her covers. I’d seen them a few times on Ecataromance Sensual and think they are very cool:

I also bought a couple of NAL Heat books, including Red Garnier’s “The Satin Sash.” I’ve always enjoyed Red’s work and was thrilled to see her published in New York. The Satin Sash does not disappoint. My god. It is hot!!!

You all made loads of other suggestions, and I thank you, but fear I have not got around to buying those books yet. I am not even finished the fifty odd books I purchased following that blog.

I am always open to new suggestions, and in fact beg you to make a few more.

Here are a few of the non-negotiable, must be bought this year, soon to be released books on my TBB pile!

JR Ward’s Lover Mine. (releases in 2 weeks….ARGHHHHHHHHHH!)

Charlaine Harris’s Dead in the Family. (May cannot come soon enough)

Sherrilyn Kenyon’s Infinity.

Karen Marie Moning’s final Fever book. (It releases at the end of Dec. How bloody far off is that?)

So what can you not wait for, what is number one on your TBR/TBB list, and what do I have to read before I buy any other book?

Thanx again for all your super suggestions.

Jess

15 Responses to “Thanx for your recommendations”

  1. Maria63303 Says:

    I really love love love Ilona Andrews Kate Douglas series of books, the first book starts out a little slow (first chapter only) while she builds her world but after that takes off and I can’t put them down. Another good series is the Mercy Thompson series by Patricia Briggs. Love these too and devour the books as they come out. For lighthearted romance I also love Jill Shalvis “Wilder Series” which is just so much fun to read.

    I too just love Sookie Stackhouse and am counting down the days for Dead in the Family…..

    • MARIA!! I JUST finished #2 last night and #1 the day before!! OMG I have been hiding under a rock!! The Kate Daniels series is absolutely amazing!!!
      AND Mercy Thompson is another favourite of mine. Have you read SIlver Borne yet??

  2. Okay, Maria, my notepad is out.
    Patricia Briggs was recommended in the previous blog, and I never got round to trying her books, but am putting her down on this TBB list. Along side your other recommendations. And you give Ilona Andrews a good recommendation.
    πŸ˜€

    Jess

  3. I bought the first bundle of the Sookie series the first day I had my nook. I JUST opened them and am on book 1. So far, it’s almost exactly like the first season of True Blood. I’m like on page 50 of 1800 some. lol

    I can not wait for JR Ward’s new one! I’m not sure about Infinity. It’s YA. I might try it, but it isn’t a rush for me. πŸ™‚ The next YA I buy will be TA’s, when he’s done. πŸ™‚

    Oh and Patricia Briggs ROCKS! I think she has a newer one out I need to get. Love her. πŸ™‚

    Jaci Burton has one out that she used my name in. Well, Brea. πŸ™‚ Bound, Branded & Brazen. Valerie is in it too. πŸ™‚ V is Bound and I’m Branded. lol

    • Shoot, JJJ. I am jealous. Wish I was just starting out on Sookie’s series.

      Love Jaci Burton. Her books are amazing. You and V are jolly lucky.

      As for Sherrylin and YA…well, I love her books too much not to try. (And I thoroughly enjoy YA too.)

      Jess

  4. JR wards new one.. when it gets time. Kate Douglas – Demonfire. More Than Make-Believe by Tymber Dalton.

    Jess, Bob was laughing saying,”I don’t remember her stopping at my store. *g*

  5. Nice to be on your list! (Thank you, Viv!) Most of my recent stuff is available in various formats at http://www.allromanceebooks.com

    Hope you find something that works for you.

    • *Thud*
      A famous author responded to the post!
      πŸ˜€

      Ya know Virginia, I checked out loads of bookstores looking for your books, and for some reason I didn’t try ARE. Duh! Go figure. The one bookstore I didn’t try.

      Okay, on my way! Thanx for the tip.

      Jess

      • Oh dear. I have now visited ARE, BOB, EBooks, and Fictionwise, and I cannot get your Sea Witch.
        ARE have your books up, but most of them are listed as N/A.
        GRRRRRR.

        Darn it. I’m more curious then ever to read your Selkie series!

  6. This is what happens when your blog kicks up on Google alert while I’m struggling with a scene change!

    Seriously, I’m delighted to be in the “list company” of Gena Showalter and Charlaine Harris.

    Also, I had the privilege of reading an ARC of Kate Douglas’s Demonfire. Great fun!

    • Hi Virginia.

      I somehow think Gena and Charlaine would be just as excited to be listed with you. Loved the Children of the Sea series thus far, and I’m waiting anxiously until September for Morgan’s story.

      Thanks for dropping in on International Heat.

      Viv

    • STOP BROWSING THE INTERNET AND START CONCENTRATING ON YOUR WRITING!
      (Well, that’s what I tell myself all the time. I figure it’s okay to tell you too.)

  7. […] Thanx for your recommendations Β« International Heat […]

  8. […] Thanx for your recommendations « International Heat […]

Leave a Reply

