Life is like a roller coaster.

I’m so not a fan of roller coasters. I’m the last one to be dragged on if anyone even manages to get me in the line. I feel sick, my ears hurt, my head throbs, my palms sweat and I haven’t even got on yet! And when I’m on it’s worse. I’ve never, EVER been on a ride where I don’t slide out of the damn seat a good half a foot or so. Yeah, I’m thin, not skinny but a good wind would blow me over and usually I can get two of me in between the seat back and the bar things that lock you in. *shudder* So I’m on, the bar is locked and the ride starts. There isn’t much difference to the way I felt standing in line for the first little bit and I often find myself thinking it ain’t that bad, I can handle this. But then the ride really begins. Holy hell! My stomach revolts a thousand fold, my ears pop continuously, my brain feels like it’s about to explode (maybe that explains the ear popping) and my whole body is covered in sweat never mind my palms. Rolling, falling, bucking, tossing, hanging upside down, you name it, you’re going through it. But in a strange way it’s exhilarating. The adrenaline is flowing and in a perverse twist of fate you’re actually having fun. So much fun you’re thinking about riding the next one. You know in the back of your mind you’re insane and while you might be having fun it’s also the worse few minutes of your life. And yet, you find yourself back in the line time and time again. What is it that keeps us going back? I haven’t a clue. I’m intelligent enough to know scaring myself silly and feeling ill shouldn’t be something I willing put myself through so why do I? And what has this got to do with life you may ask.

Well, in my wisdom I’ve come to the conclusion that life is like a roller coaster. It’s exactly like one. And we ride that sucker every damn day! Sure it’s a little scary, sometimes you even throw up and there are times when you cry, times when you laugh and times where you wanna scream for someone to push the stop button. But at the end of the day you’re alive, living through the most exciting, exhilarating, terrifying ride there is. I may not be a fan of roller coasters but I ride the biggest one of all everyday and I take everything it throws my way and still I look forward to lining up every morning. Okay, not morning, not a fan of those either but you know what I mean. And when things get just a little too much, we do what most amusement park goers do, we head for the ferris wheel or the merry-go-round and take things a little slower. And when we’ve caught our breath we head on back to the big stuff and hold on with two white-knuckled hands.

Rhian

One Response to “Life is like a roller coaster.”

  1. and still I look forward to lining up every morning <– Really lovely!

Leave a Reply

