Sneak Peek

Egads! Just realized that it’s my day to blog and here I am with nothing to say. Not that that’s anything new–I don’t think I’ve made much of a secret of my dislike of blogging. I thought rather than bore you with some sad attempt, I’d share some of the only writing I do enjoy–the fictional variety!

I am currently working on a new book I hope to submit to Samhain Publishing as part of the Black & White Collection. Other books in the series involving wicked fantasies include Erotic Research (role playing), Tequila Truth (menage), and Rough Cut (BDSM). This story is tentatively titled Happy Hour and it’s a cougar menage. It’s still very rough and only half written, but I thought I’d give you a sneak peek.

I’d love comments as this is a work in progress. Any suggestions? Tweaks needed?

“Hey Gracie,” Cheryl called out. “We were just talking about you.”

“About me?”

“Yeah,” Jamie Fisher, one of the PE teachers said. “We’re all going to,” he paused and looked at the two students at the computer, before continuing, “choir practice at Tully’s and wanted to know if you wanted to come along.”

Grace laughed at his codename for happy hour. “Choir practice, eh?” Tully’s was a well-known bar and she’d frequented it with this group on more than a few Fridays in the past.

“And before you even try to come up with an excuse, I know Maddie is going to the lake with Jessica and her parents and you have nothing else to do tonight.” Cheryl dared Grace to say no with a raised eyebrow.

“I wasn’t going to make an excuse,” Grace lied. Actually, she had been leaning toward the “I’m too tired” line, but that was simply because she was depressed over Maddie’s imminent departure. Of course, Cheryl knew that, so Grace wouldn’t be given a chance to wallow in self-pity tonight. “Sounds like fun.”

“Great,” Jamie said, grinning at her. “We’ll do our duet.”

She laughed. Jamie was a hopeless flirt, but she had to admit he was good for her ego. A physical education teacher and coach, there wasn’t a single inch on his body that was hard to look at. Not that she’d seen much of his body anywhere besides in her unprofessional daydreams. The best part about him was he always chose to sit with her at faculty meetings and in the staff lunchroom. He was fun and funny and she enjoyed his company. The last few times they’d gotten together for happy hour, he’d managed to shanghai her into singing the Diana Ross part in Endless Love while their friends cracked up at his overdone Lionel Ritchie.

“I only sing while under the extreme effects of alcohol.”

“Even better,” he replied, wiggling his eyebrows suggestively. “I’ll get you drunk and have my wicked way with you.”

“Good luck with that,” she teased.

“Speaking of drinking, Grace, I’ll follow you to your house and drive to Tully’s, so you can have some fun,” Cheryl offered. “You were the DD for the last choir practice and I still have the headache to prove it.”

A couple months earlier, this same group had gone to happy hour to celebrate their school’s basketball team winning the regional championship. Happy hour had dragged into happy night and Grace hadn’t managed to pull Cheryl out of the bar until nearly midnight.

“So who else is in?” Grace asked.

“We’re are.” Nicole and Kim, two young science teachers said. “But we can’t stay too long. I’ve got a big volleyball tournament in the morning and Kim’s driving home for her brother’s birthday party.”

Grace nodded. “Long drive,” she said to Kim. “Are you spending the night with your parents tomorrow night?”

“Oh yeah. No way in hell I’m driving three hours for a two hour party and then turning around and coming home. My mom’s promised to stock her freezer with mint chocolate chip ice cream, so I’ll just drive back Sunday.”

“I’ve got to run by the store for a couple of things,” Nicole said, looking at her watch. “We’ll meet you guys at the bar in a little while.” She and Kim left.

Jamie, who had been leaning against the desk, stood up. “I’m going to swing by Lucas and Trey’s classrooms and drag them out for a few cold ones.”

Grace saw the gleam in Cheryl’s eye. “The Cougar Club rides again,” her friend joked.

“Oh jeez,” Grace muttered.

Cheryl had given their little group the nickname last summer when they’d all gotten together to celebrate Grace’s fortieth birthday at Jamie’s house. The younger women in their gang had taken off early, leaving Cheryl and Grace drinking and dancing the night away in Jamie’s living room with several of the male teachers. When a discussion on age ensued, they’d learned three of the guys were in their late twenties, a fact that delighted Cheryl so much she’d henceforth referred to them as The Cougar Club. The guys loved it. Grace, not so much.

Jamie laughed, but Grace groaned. “Do you have to call it that? You make me feel like a dirty old woman.”

Jamie winked at her and she tried to ignore the completely inappropriate, Mrs. Robinson-like feelings his handsome face always provoked. “I don’t mind getting dirty,” he said. They laughed, but there were times when Grace wondered if there wasn’t some veiled invitation behind Jamie’s teasing comments. He joked about sex all the time with her. His playful words never offended her, but instead fanned the small flame he’d lit inside her. He made her feel young and attractive and desirable.

She dismissed the thought.

Wishful thinking.

Jamie wasn’t as young as the other guys in their group. They’d worked together for nearly eight years and had been close friends nearly half that time. Still, at thirty-two, he was almost a decade younger than her forty. “I’m sure you don’t mind getting dirty,” she teased. “I’ve heard too many of the gritty details of your scandalous love life to doubt it for a second.”

Jamie shrugged. “I’ve just been biding my time with those other women until you come to your senses and realize how much you want my hot bod.”

She rolled her eyes. “Such conceit.” And such truth.

 “I’ll see you ladies at Tully’s,” Jamie said, waving briefly before he left.

3 Responses to “Sneak Peek”

  1. Ah! Love it!!
    Hurry up & finish!!
    …please. 🙂

  2. Maria63303 Says:

    Yeah…I love it too….

  3. This sounds great! The excerpt has me wanting more.

Leave a Reply

