Ask Adam – a snippet

It’s been so long since I’ve given my first Samhain book any acknowledgment, I feel it’s only fair to post a snippet from Ask Adam. Why this book? Well, a couple of people have mentioned it of late, and I received a nice review for it just the other day at The Pleasure Chest.

So here we go, one cover, blurb and excerpt from the book coming up:

ASK ADAM: The Blurb

Can one wild night of passion turn into the romance of a lifetime?

Lexi Tanner’s got a major problem: AJ Riley, the man she’s about to approach for a hefty donation, turns out to be the stranger she shared a night of steamy sex with less than a week past. She’ll do anything to raise money for a children’s charity—anything except sell herself. Now how can she ask AJ for money without it seeming like he’s paying for sexual favors?

If there’s one thing the past has taught Adam “AJ” Riley, it’s that loving someone can only lead to pain. He knows he shouldn’t feel so attracted to Lexi, and he definitely shouldn’t trust a woman who’d sleep with a man one week and approach him for money the next. Yet somehow Lexi breaks through all his barriers. His instincts tell him to run but his heart wants to give Lexi—and love—a second chance. How can he let go of his tragic past and still protect his battered heart?

Warning, this title contains the following: steamy sex, graphic language and red-hot romance.

Ask Adam: An excerpt

“Perhaps I can make the offer a little more enticing?” He stared at her from beneath a thick fringe of black lashes. His eyes were fiery rocks of blue ice, desire blazing in them.

The look on his face paralyzed her. She couldn’t move, couldn’t draw breath.

“Something happened when you barged into my office.” He lowered his voice. “I got an erection, Lexi. I still have it. I’m aroused…very aroused.”

Her jaw dropped. Of all the things she’d expected him to say, this was not one of them. His words weaved their magic through her senses, magnifying her awareness of him. His voice rippled like velvet over her skin, and her mouth filled with the taste of his salty flesh. His scent surrounded her, mixing with the remembered smell of their lovemaking—musk and man.

She shivered. Damn it, she didn’t want to respond to him, didn’t want to want him like she did.

“You hate the thought of it, don’t you?” God, his voice. It was so rich and so deep she could almost burrow into it. “The thing is, you’re aroused too. I can see it.” He lowered his eyes to her chest, and her breasts burned beneath his blistering gaze. “Your nipples are tight, like little pebbles, pushing against your bra. Just like in Melbourne.” He took a deep breath. “How would you react if I kissed them now? Placed my mouth over the turgid tips and sucked on them?” He looked into her eyes. “Would you like that?”

Like that? Hell, the very thought of it had her liquefying in his office. Her mouth still hung open, making speech difficult.

“I would,” he continued. He laid his palm flat against the middle of his desk. “Almost as much as I’d like to bend you forward over my desk, bunch your skirt high above your hips and slide your thong down your legs.” He paused and looked below her waist. Her skirt might as well have been invisible. He stared straight through it at her panties. “You are wearing a thong, aren’t you, Lexi? Is it black? I think it is. Black and lacy.”

Actually, it was deep purple, and much as she wished it wasn’t, it was very, very wet.

“We’d be standing there, where you are now, so you can look out the window while I inch the lace down your legs.” Involuntarily, her eyes left his face and flashed to the window. Once again, the breathtaking panorama astounded her. Not quite as breathtaking, though, as the man in front of her, sitting by his desk idly undressing her with his eyes and seducing her with his words.

“I’d move slowly, of course, so I wouldn’t miss one centimeter of your silky skin.” He looked contemplative for a minute. “Would I take them off with my hands, or my teeth? I can’t quite decide.”

Tingles ran up her legs as if his teeth grazed her outer thigh.

He shook his head. “My hands, I think. That way I can see the view. Not the same view you’d be watching, obviously. I’d be staring at your naked ass. I’d be watching as you shove it backwards, and upwards, and tease me with a glimpse of your feminine core.” The timbre of his voice changed, lowered a notch. “It’s wet, Lexi, isn’t it? It always is when you’re around me.”

Her breath caught in her throat. She had trouble focusing. All she could see, really, was her naked butt in the air and him staring at it, hunger etched in his eyes.

Hell, yes, she was wet. He was right…she always was when she was around him.

“I’ll spend a long time just staring at you, watching you gleam in the sunshine. Watching the cream ooze out as you wait for me to touch you.”

He licked his lip and she realized she was gnawing on her bottom lip in the exact place where his tongue touched his mouth. The realization was erotic in the extreme. She let her lip slip away from her teeth as she studied his mouth and could almost feel the warm moisture of his tongue on her own lip.

He focused on her mouth, his breath uneven. “I will touch you,” he promised. “Just not with my fingers.” He clenched his hand into a fist. “Even though they’re itching to massage that cream all over your lips. Even though I’m dying to rub your pretty little clit until you writhe beneath the contact.” He paused. “I won’t use my fingers, because you don’t want them.”

Oh, dear Lord, was he ever wrong. She wanted them so bad she could imagine them between her legs.

😀

Ask Adam is available now from MBaM.

Jess


5 Responses to “Ask Adam – a snippet”

  1. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Stacy ~ and International Heat, Sharon Muha. Sharon Muha said: Oh my. This is hot! RT @intlheat: New Blog Post – Ask Adam – a snippet http://bit.ly/539ej5 […]

  2. tennismom mary g Says:

    Hi Jess
    This was my first Jess book. I just put my 2 cents in over at Pleasure Chest. I’ve hardly had time to read so I still have to finish Photo Opportunity. You write hot stuff girl!! I know you get bored hearing about how great you are so take care & talk to you soon.

  3. Mary

    You have to know I NEVER get bored of it!!!

    And I saw you commented about Steve’s Story over at Smart Bitches.
    LOLOL, you should go into promotion. You’re brilliant at it.

    Big smooches to you.

    Jess

  4. tennismom mary g Says:

    In all seriousness it’s easy to sell something you love & that you believe in. Steve’s Story & HEA still resonates with me. Doesn’t take much to bring it to mind. I’d love to work with book (but then I wouldn’t get any work done LOL).
    ((hugs)) back.

  5. tennismom mary g Says:

    Hey I forgot. My eyes will be on Australian Open Tennis for the next 2 weeks. I read during the commercials. I’ll be thinking of you down under. Aussie accent is my fave.

Leave a Reply

