Mirror, Mirror on the Wall

I had a nasty experience the other day. Most unpleasant indeed.

So there I was, innocently shopping for summer clothes because my weight has been creeping ever so slightly, and last year’s shorts and T’s don’t fit so well. I found a couple of possibilities and headed over to the change room to see how they’d look on me. I’m about to try on a gorgeous little sun dress when something behind me caught my eye. I peaked over my shoulder to see what it was, and that’s when it happened…

I saw something awful. It was big – much bigger than I ever expected – and ugly. I’m talking wiggly, lumpy, bumpy and bulgy ugly.

And that’s not the worst part. Horror of horrors, it was reflected on the mirrors on three walls of the change room. I would have screamed out loud, but that would have brought people running in from all directions. And when you’re standing in your underwear and nothing else, the last thing you want is people running in to save you. Especially if the object of terror they have to save you from is your own behind.

Yes, alas, for the first time since last summer, I was unfortunate enough to notice that the weight that had been creeping up was in fact not creeping. It was galloping full steam ahead. The fruits of my ever increasing appetite were displayed in all their hideous glory. And one mirror behind me wasn’t enough to show off all that dimpled skin in it’s bountiful abundance. No, I had to have it in triple stereo, 3D action.

I’m on diet now. I have no choice. If I want to take my kids to the each this summer I have to shed, oh, about 25 kilos.
YEAH RIGHT!

*Sigh*

Jess

4 Responses to “Mirror, Mirror on the Wall”

  1. ROFLMAO!! Jess, I’m sorry but I thought you found a cancerous mole or there was a spider on your back or something.

    Good luck with the diet!

  2. vivianarend Says:

    Scary…and I’m heading into winter with the extra weight on me. Who knows what will happen by the spring.

    Gag.

    And YOU are gorgeous, silly girl…

Leave a Reply

