Words, words, words.

So lets talk about words. I love words. LOVE them! I love the way they make you feel when you read them, the images they produce on your minds eye, and the way a whole book full of them can tell a tale so engrossing you forget the real world. You can string a group of them together to make a song. They can be used to send a message, sell a product or teach a person something. They convey every emotion, thought or desire. You can even use them to make a living. *grin* But when you think about it, really think about it, it’s amazing what 26 letters can do. Yeah, think about that for a moment. The English alphabet has only 26 letters and yet that small number does a brilliant job of multiplying. (It’s okay, I’m not gonna talk about math. *grin*) Those 26 letters make up millions of words, some we use every day, some we rarely hear and others we’ll never hear but they’re there, waiting for us to find them and use them. To me it’s like a jigsaw puzzle, each word slips into a sentence to make up a final picture. I like the way one word can change you’re impression of something too. I mean I could describe a puddle of dark liquid in a number of ways. The black pool shimmered in the moonlight. The oily black pool shimmered in the moonlight. Adding the word oily changes the feel of that sentence for me. The first doesn’t give me much more than the image of puddle at night but the second makes me think of slimy yucky things. That’s a really simple example and I could probably go on for hours about how wonderful words are but I’ve got to go play with some words of my own.

I’ll confess to loving my dictionaries and thesauruses too. I open a dictionary every morning and find a new word, then I go to the thesaurus and look it up. I think it helps with my writing but I just love finding new ways to say things. I’ve been known to stop in the middle of reading a book to look up a word I’m not sure of. Probably not something you want a reader to do as the author but *shrug* I’m addicted to words and can’t help myself. So anyone got any new words for me to look up?

Rhian

5 Responses to “Words, words, words.”

  1. I get a word a day emailed to me from dictionary.com. You can sign up for free and I love all the new words I get! eg.

    crapulous \KRAP-yuh-lus\, adjective:

    1. Given to or characterized by gross excess in drinking or eating.
    2. Suffering from or due to such excess.

    I must confess I thought it was going to mean a whole different thing! But I can’t wait to use ‘I consumed a crapulous amount of chocolate today’. I am a big word nerd.

  2. You’re so right. The English language is an amazing thing. So much comes from 26 letters. The latest word I read that was new to me was “recombinant”. It was easy to get the gist of the word, (of course I Googled it to be certain) but I’d never actually seen it used in a book before. 🙂

Leave a Reply

